Winter mudguards for luddite with carbon bike?

amc
amc Posts: 315
edited December 2012 in Road beginners
Can people please recommend me some mudguards for my Storck Scenario race bike (which has v little tyre clearance and no eyelets for guards).
I don't mind a bit of mud and crud myself but I'm looking to keep the frame and rear mech protected as much as possible while i do some winter miles usually on my own rather than a group).
I'm also a clumsy mechanic so i'd like them to be as easy as possible to put on (and off).
I hear good things about Crud Roadracer guards and sks race blades but have no idea how easy they are to fit and if they do the job.
Many thanks.
amc

Comments

• ride_whenever
    ride_whenever Posts: 13,279
    The cruds are too fiddly IMO. I'd go for the sks raceblade xl (the qr ones not the band on ones) They don't touch the frame anywhere other than the dropouts and are relatively easy to fit and very quick to take on and off once fitted.
  • Peddle Up!
    Peddle Up! Posts: 2,040
    Purveyor of "up" :)
  • geebee2
    geebee2 Posts: 248
    If you are riding in a group, the Crud guards are better, as they come down lower at the back.
    They also keep junk off your chain much better - with the sks, the water hits the rear stay and gets deflected all over the front mech and chain ring. They also have pads that help keep you rims clean, so you don't get a horrible noise when braking, and I imagine it helps reduce rim wear.

The one advantage with the SKS is you can take them off and put them back on in a couple of minutes.
    Fitting the Crud guards is a longer job - at least 10 minutes, even when you know what you are doing, I would say.

Having used both, I think the Cruds are significantly better overall.
  • amaferanga
    amaferanga Posts: 6,789
    The cruds are too fiddly IMO.

Fiddly? That's not been my experience. Raceblades aren't even close in terms of the protection to both bike and other riders.