First 40 miler

Philinmerthyr
Philinmerthyr Posts: 135
edited November 2012 in Road beginners
I completed my first 40 mile ride this morning. I did 40.9 miles at an average of 13.1 mph.

I was disappointed that I didn't get under the 3 hr mark but given the strong crosswind for most of the ride, the last 7 miles being slightly uphill into a headwind and the fact that I'm still over 21 st, I'm pretty pleased with myself.

I started training 5 weeks ago and have done around 370 miles, cleared my bank account but bought a new Roubaix and some great cold weather kit and a Garmin 200. Its the best thing I've done in years. Lost over a stone and loving life. :lol:

Comments

• TakeTurns
    TakeTurns Posts: 1,075
    That's a really good pace considering your condition. Great job! Imagine how quick you'll be once you're down to a healthy weight with a decent amount of fitness.
  • well done keep it up !
  • Buckie2k5
    Buckie2k5 Posts: 600
    well done! im a few weeks ahead of you and you seem to be going along at the same schedule as me. in few weeks time you will hit your 1st 50. I done mine on thursday and im still buzzing :)
  • Buckie2k5 wrote:
    well done! im a few weeks ahead of you and you seem to be going along at the same schedule as me. in few weeks time you will hit your 1st 50. I done mine on thursday and im still buzzing :)

I signed up to do the London100 for beating bowel cancer so need to build up to that but I have until next August to get there.

I'm pleased with my progress. Plan to build up to 100 miles per week (3 x 15 mile rides in the week and a longer ride on the weekend) and maintain that to help me lose weight through the winter and then build up to the 100 mile through the spring.
  • elderone
    elderone Posts: 1,410
    well done thats a cracking ride and at your weight even more so..keep it going and you will do the 100 no problem.
    Dulce et decorum est Pro patria mori
  • unixnerd
    unixnerd Posts: 2,864