Road surface drains my energy

Rulebritania
Rulebritania Posts: 209
edited October 2012 in Road beginners
I went out today and for the first time on my 23rd ride and could not believe how draining the rough surface on one the roads was. Within minutes I felt the energy draining from my body. When i got onto smoother roads I regained it somewhat but I've not experienced that before.
I was only about 9 miles into my second 30+
Don't call me sir I work for a living

Comments

• Mikey41
    Mikey41 Posts: 690
    I hate rough tarmac, it's harder to pedal over and even worse when it's in the middle of a climb. Oh well, just gotta get used to it. :(
    Giant Defy 2 (2012)
    Giant Defy Advanced 2 (2013)
    Giant Revel 1 Ltd (2013)
    Strava
  • Roads in UK are generally pretty cack. That woodchip style tarmaccing has got to be the worst. Whose stupid idea was that?
  • TakeTurns
    TakeTurns Posts: 1,075
    Reduce your tyre pressure. It'll make the ride smoother and you'll save energy because the wheel won't be bouncing around.

I used to keep me TP topped up around 120, I noticed an increase in speed when I brought it down to 100-110, even on the roads which were smooth-ish.
  • +1 for checking your tyre pressure, I used to have mine up in the 120 psi region and now ride with around 110 up front and 95 on the rear, I don't feel so beat up by the road surface anymore and my average speed is up slightly since the change.
  • TakeTurns wrote:
    Reduce your tyre pressure. It'll make the ride smoother and you'll save energy because the wheel won't be bouncing around.

I used to keep me TP topped up around 120, I noticed an increase in speed when I brought it down to 100-110, even on the roads which were smooth-ish.

I dread the pot holes which may then damage the wheel or am I being over careful :?:
  • DavidJB
    DavidJB Posts: 2,019
    Roads in UK are generally pretty cack. That woodchip style tarmaccing has got to be the worst. Whose stupid idea was that?