Voodoo Hoodoo Click/Creak

screemin187
screemin187 Posts: 31
edited October 2012 in MTB workshop & tech
Apols if a repost, tried to search with no success. **Newbie warning**

Been having problems as last two days with a click/creak coming from what i think is the crank/left pedal area. Being a newbie i just assumed i'd take it apart and lube it, haven't the tool i need to get it apart. Live & Learn

But on reading through the tech section i see creaking etc can be a problem on various bikes. Its driving me nuts. Bike was/is my starter in mountain biking and although i'd like to upgrade eventually this bike has to do me this year, its not that old, maybe 2 - 3 months

Can anyone please advise me what the normal basic home checks you'd do if this starts to happen, and presuming i'm not going to get stuck 5 miles away from the van tomorrow morning. I'm an average home mechanic type but guidance preferred first. Is there anything i can do to eliminate that its not a bigger problem than maybe cleaning or adjusting something?

Any magical trickery tips much welcome, e.g someone tell me to spray something on the whatdoyoumecallit and it will go away instantly would be perfect if it works! Obviously on a serious note i want to sort it, its doing my head in

The noise is like a double click tick/tick when i pedal left down, if that makes sense

Thanks

Comments

• oxocube1
    oxocube1 Posts: 651
    The quickest and easiest option is to try a new set of pedals. I think the Hoodoo comes with Wellgo flats if i remember correctly? I know that a lot of them develop clicking/creaking/crunching sounds within a few weeks-months of use.Too many times i've swapped pedals in the shop and it's sorted the problem straight away.