Tyres for cycling through snow

u33db
u33db Posts: 68
edited November 2012 in Commuting general
Hi,

I have been using my bike to commute to work for a few months this year and have equiped it with Contental Travelcontact tyres.

Now winter is coming i don't think slick tyres will really cut it so i'm wondering what you all use for cycling through snow/ice during the winter months?

Is it just a case of the knoblier the better?

Comments

• graeme_s-2
    graeme_s-2 Posts: 3,382
    My commute is all on the road, so I only really have to deal with slush, and the odd patch of ice. For that I have a set of Marathon Winters I put on my hybrid during the winter. You can ride over ice and compacted snow almost like you're on tarmac, they're great. If you were going to be riding in a lot of fresh snow then you'd want something knobblier I'd imagine.
  • u33db
    Thanks!

I live near Aberdeen and i think we're going to get hit HARD by it this year.

Seen these Continental Spike Claws which look pretty good;

http://conti-tyres.co.uk/conticycle/ti%20SpikeClaw.shtml

Still got to check prices...
  • graeme_s-2
    graeme_s-2 Posts: 3,382
    Don't wait until it's already snowy and icy to order them. They have a habit of selling out as soon as the weather takes a turn for the worse, and I think generally the tyre companies just do one production run of them for the winter.

I ordered mine a couple of years back from an online bike shop in Germany (basically the German version of Wiggle/CRC).

Spiked tyres in the snow are lots of fun though :)
  • u33db
    Thanks.

I see they do 2 versions - a 120 spike version (with the spikes only around the shoulders) and a 240 spike version (spikes all over).

What would you recommend if the commute is on roads that may be a mixture of snow/ice one and exposed tar on other days...i mean if i bought the 240 and used them on dry days would the spikes get damaged?
  • rolf_f
    rolf_f Posts: 16,015