Money / Mortgages / Investments / Pensions

dw300
dw300 Posts: 1,642
edited July 2018 in The cake stop
I know extra money isn't easy to come by these days, but if any of you invest any money, can you recommend something that gives a good ROI?

Alternatively, is it better to pay off your mortgage off sooner to save on the interest charged? Or perhaps pay more into a pension plan to double up on that via employer contributions?

I've just accepted a new job after a period of unemployment and want to be sensible with my money while I have little in the way of bills .. I know it might not be long before I'm joining gyms or golf clubs that I never get my moneys worth from ..

I'll probably run some numbers, but I'm sure there's plenty of people with great advice on here.
All the above is just advice .. you can do whatever the f*ck you wana do!
Bike Radar Strava Club
The Northern Ireland Thread

Comments

• I'm by no means a money expert. I know interest rates are low but if you were to pay off your mortgage you're guaranteed a roof over your head come what may. The experts generally say clear debt as a first priority. I'd say the interest you're paying will still be more than you'll recieve from an investment unles it's very long term or you're lucky/shrewd with stocks and shares.

Once you've cleared your mortgage look towards the pension issue.
    Tail end Charlie

The above post may contain traces of sarcasm or/and bullsh*t.
  • daviesee
    daviesee Posts: 6,386
    ^^^^^^^

That's what I did but what do I know.......
    None of the above should be taken seriously, and certainly not personally.
  • verylonglegs
    verylonglegs Posts: 3,954