Left to die The unused bikes

Rulebritania
Rulebritania Posts: 209
edited October 2012 in Road general
I noticed over the last couple of weeks a few cycles just locked and left to die a slow unused death. In my block of flats there is a secure basement with cycle racks. I have not yet been round the whole area but with 10 feet of mine are two cycles with flattening tyres and cobwebs on the cogs.

A Giant Defy & a Specialized Allez

I think its such a waste of decent cycles. I'm going to look at the rest of the bikes and see what other wasted money is there.

Anyone else see a wasted bike? If so what is it
Don't call me sir I work for a living

Comments

• Contact the owners/administrators of the block/parking area and get them removed.
  • rodgers73
    rodgers73 Posts: 2,626
    Leave a note on them offering to buy them. Bet the owner would let them go for not much and you can resell them on ebay at a profit (after as minor service and a clean)
  • estampida
    estampida Posts: 1,008
    this is a product of the c2w scheme

A few commuters get bikes in the office because they want to commute, the rest of the office go.... oh I want a bike

but have no drive to use it so it sits and rots away

my car park has a few of these (mainly low end voodoo and boardman from halfords...)

the local scally's know about it and have been stripping them for wheels and disk brakes, and forks.....

that's right they lock the down tube to the locking point and get the wheels robbed - a true sign of a non-cyclist that does not understand.....
  • lc1981
    lc1981 Posts: 820