FTP, MAP and 20minute test. Please help

gbr236
gbr236 Posts: 393
Hi

I am relatively new to more scientific training
Using a power crank (SRM) and a mac computer with garmin connect.
I understand that i need to measure 20minute max power FTP and mulitply by 1.23 to get my MAP
From here can calculate training zones.
My garmin gives me average power, max power, max average power (20minutes), normalised power.
Which of these should i take after my 20minute test?

About 8months ago had a 'fitness test' which demonstrated a MAP of 410watts and a LT threshold power of 360watts. Don't want to repeat the expense just now hence the attempts above.

Thanks

Comments

• SBezza
    SBezza Posts: 2,173
    If you are going to base training zones on MAP, do a MAP test to get an accurate figure, rather than just multiple a 20 min test by 1.23. If you wanted to guessimate your FTP then a 20 min test is normal, but you do need to be wary as the true FTP might be out compared with a calculation of say 95% of the 20 min figure. If doing it on a turbo I would expect the AP and the NP to be very similar, in fact on the road it should be pretty similar as well.

For working with power I would suggest better software than Garmin Connect, for a free one choose Golden Cheetah, or there is Training Peaks WKO+ if you were happy to pay. This will give you far better post ride anaylsis.
  • gbr236
    Can I do a map test myself?
    I've also seen multiples of max steady state power (whatever that means) being quoted for Map
    Will look at new software

Could you spare a moment to explain average vs normalised?

Thanks
  • SBezza
    Take a look at this post regarding doing a MAP test.

viewtopic.php?f=40011&t=12880335