Why can't our club get a team?

Spaniard
Spaniard Posts: 69
edited October 2012 in Amateur race
I always see posts on this forum from riders who say they're keen to race. However, this sentiment doesn't seem to exist in my own club. we are a big club with a strong mtb, TT and youth / track racing, however very few riders involved in RR. i've put posts on our website - these have been greeted with a deafening silence. This year only myself and one other club member seemed to want to RR.
I've not been racing long myself - only started in spring, and I'm a fairly unspectacular vet. I'd really like to learn from more experienced riders, or at least have friends around me in races, but just can't get the interest. I've suggested training rides, chaingangs, etc but to no avail. I could join a different club I suppose, but as my club is on my doorstep and I've got to know its members I'd rather not. any suggestions :?:

Comments

• clubs go through phases with racing, with members attracted more to certain types of racing one year and another type later down the road, have all your ex roadies, retired, left, joined a better road club, moved to racing teams?.............how is membership recruitment, who are you attracting, how are you targetting members, do you have awards for racing to encourage take up.
    Team4Luke supports Cardiac Risk in the Young
  • jgsi
    jgsi Posts: 5,062
    Also think it is a phase with your club as well..
    you could always suggest a reliability ride for early 2013, that might drag a few out of their slumbers...
  • Pross
    Pross Posts: 40,215