Bike servicing

Buttons
Buttons Posts: 5
edited September 2012 in The workshop
I'm in need of some advice on this topic. My bike, a 15 month old entry level Carrera road bike, is off for a service at Evans. The mechanic has come back saying it needs over £200 spent on replacing the chain, cassette, bottom bracket, cables and pads.

Now I'm no expert however I'm rather sceptical - I've had no problem with changing gears, the chain doesn't slip and the bike was serviced at a different bike place about 9 months ago. I'm also fairly confident that with a bit of research I could change cassette, cables, pads, chain etc fairly routinely.

I am somewhat dubious, any experience of this or advice?

Many thanks!

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    well it all depends on what the other shop did or did not do.

if you are not happy tell them not to do it and take it somewhere else.

have a read of Parktool for how to do things.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • estampida
    estampida Posts: 1,008
    you could buy the parts and the tools to do these repairs if they are required by yourself...

also there is a mountain of other tutorials on youtube
  • Sometimes a chain and cassette that have worn together will remain smooth together. It's only when one needs replaced that it becomes apparent that t'other is gassed as well.

I'm not saying this is definitely the case here, or that the guy isn't trying to put the arm in a bit, just that it's possible.
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    I suspect the chain has been measured out of tolerance and as such Evans have responsibly said it needs changing, as has been said if the chain and cassette etc have worn together, they'll need changing together.

BB is easy to check, pads are cheap as chips and very easy DIY.

Servicing is easy, it's take a look and lube it, don't pay just DIY!