Regents Park: it's getting a bit hairy?

Toks
Toks Posts: 1,143
edited September 2012 in Training, fitness and health
Now back in the day when I started riding around Central London's most famous training loop you were always grateful for a bit of company. Most of the time you would do quite a number of laps before even meeting another cyclist - so taking turns in 2's, 3's, 4's or even shock horror 'thru and off' in a larger group was pretty a rare occurance. Fast forward 7/8 years and we all know Road Cycling is now very popular so this means your pretty much guaranteed company (preferred or not) nearly every day of the week in RP. Fine, no issue with that, using other riders as carrots is a great way to get those competitive juices flowing. But...pretty much on a daily basis there are large groups of cyclists taking risks - racing through lights, dodging cars, swerving past pedestrians recently in the dark. Worse still in the last couple of weeks I've personally witnessed 2 crashes and the aftermath of a 3rd: A Dynamo rider got taken out in a group; someone knocked down a pedestrian and someone else was taken away in an ambulance. In the previous six years I can't remember ever witnessing a crash. I think biggest risk to safety are the fast groups. I personally feel if your riding as part of a group and you're at the front you have a responsibility to communicate all various hazards to people behind you. Tonights hammerfest, featuring a number of Rapha riders, was quite dicey especially when it got dark - I decided to quit. Guys becareful :roll:

Comments

• ShutUpLegs
    ShutUpLegs Posts: 3,522
    Pedal harder, stay on the front.
  • dw300
    dw300 Posts: 1,642
    People are faster than me .. stop them!
    All the above is just advice .. you can do whatever the f*ck you wana do!
    Bike Radar Strava Club
    The Northern Ireland Thread
  • phil s
    phil s Posts: 1,128
    ShutUpLegs wrote:
    Pedal harder, stay on the front.