Wheels - what to look for when buying

TheEnglishman
TheEnglishman Posts: 587
edited September 2012 in The cake stop
I'm looking to upgrade a set of OEM DT Axis 2.0 wheels and have around £300 to spend. Now there's tons available around that price, with 2 shops yesterday recommending Fulcrum Quattro as really good value. But other than colour I'm just swamped with jargon and I have no experience to put one set of words against another. Beyond asking for some 700c wheels I don't know if deep dished wheels will actually make much difference over non or whether the lightest wheels I can get will be the best option considering I don't race and just want something reliable that's 'better' than what I have already. And there's cartridge vs bearings, spoke types, etc etc... Arrgghhhh :)

So, has anyone got any tips on what to look for or what to ask in shops? Or for the money am I approaching custom build prices and would be better off going to a builder and getting something made with a personal touch?

Comments

• I know this doesn't answer your question directly, but for that sort of money you could get these:

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=29086

I have a pair, and I love them. I've done about 1000 miles on them and there's not even the hint of a kink in them, despite the state of our roads. They accelerate well and roll very, very well.

just my 2c...
    Reduce your carbon footprint - ride a metal bike!
  • jonomc4
    jonomc4 Posts: 891
    the only advice I can give is read 100's of reviews and gradually gleam from them what to look for.
  • jonomc4 wrote:
    the only advice I can give is read 100's of reviews and gradually gleam from them what to look for.