Cannock chase monkey trail,how hard an can my bike take it?

Garya2361
Garya2361 Posts: 6
edited September 2012 in MTB beginners
Hi all my names gary and just after some helpful advice!!!
I've recently started to get into cross country and recently done the follow the do route at cannock chase but I seen half way around the intersection for the monkey trail and bottled out of doing it ;( purely down to the fact I'm new to biking at the old age of (31) I'm lucky as I live in lichfield so cannock is on the door step but just don't want to do to much to soon and wipe out into a tree.also just invested in my first descent bike in the form of a lapierre spicy 516 an hope this will help me out round the trails and also help in technique.
Thanks for any advice an if any of you are on the chase and see someone wiped out then it's probably me lol.

Comments

• thistle_
    thistle_ Posts: 7,163
    It's not a difficult trail if you've done lots of riding before.

There's more climbing (and descending) and it's longer so it's more physically demanding. If you stay on the red route and avoid the black runs most if it is no more technically difficult than follow the dog.
    The only exception I can think of is where the trail descends towards the railway line where there are some steps in the trail. I bottled it the first time I did it (the day after the trail opened) but they seem to have bedded in nicely and are more rideable now.

Take your time, look where you are going and don't go too fast. If you're not sure of something get off and walk down it. You've got plenty of other visits to nail anything you miss out the first time around.
  • ali4390
    ali4390 Posts: 106
    To be honest it's quite an easy route - if you're not confident then take your time and as the above poster says you can always get off your bike. I tried it on my second time to Cannock on my £300 hardtail and both myself and bike coped with no problem.