Thinking about Road racing.. What speeds?

Rushmore
Rushmore Posts: 674
edited September 2012 in Amateur race
Hi all..

I'm thinking about giving road racing a shot next season and getting my 4th cat race licence..
Thing is I'm not really sure what sort of speeds are required to be relatively competitive.

Will I get blown out the back? I honestly have No idea...

On Solo rides over about 30 miles I will average about 19 - 21 mph depending on hills

When rides of about 50 or more i'll be averaging anywhere between 17 - 19.5 depending on hills and stuff..

When i'm out on club rides we will average ( again over about 30 miles ) about 23 - 25mph.. When I say group its usually me and 2 others tops.. And will do about 30 second sprints at about 27 - 30mph..

I am pretty new to road cycling... So I have no idea what sort of standard the races are... Can someone advise me on if i'd be ok?

Sorry if this is a stupid question.. but I don't want to get embarrass by entering a race and coming last... :|
Always remember.... Wherever you go, there you are.

Ghost AMR 7500 2012
De Rosa R838

Comments

• jibberjim
    jibberjim Posts: 2,810
    Average speeds are completely irrelevant in a race.
    Average speeds on club runs are completely irrelevant as no-one knows how you record, if you only manage max speeds of 27mph averaging 25mph would be amazing once you add in junctions etc. So you presumably discount quite a lot of time when recording.

It's unlikely that you'll be too unfit - but you may well still come last - equally you may well win. There's nothing to be embarrassed about coming last.
    Jibbering Sports Stuff: http://jibbering.com/sports/
  • If you can solo for an hour and a half and average 20mph you should be fine.