Cursed brakes

aeroart
aeroart Posts: 8
edited September 2012 in MTB workshop & tech
Hey guys, I am fairly new in this discipline, so I made a mistake, due to the fact that my brakes were making a screeching noise I decided to put some oil on them, and so that happend. I tried everything, baking the pads, cleaning the rotor and the pads with acetone, then I bought Muc OFF disk brake cleaner, still didn't work. So I bought new pads, that didn't work either, so I bought a new rotor, right now with both a new rotor and new pads my brakes still don't work, the disc just slides through.

This is what I currently have:

Brake pads: http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/stor ... yId_165608

Rotor: http://www.amazon.co.uk/PROMAX-ULTRA-ST ... 086&sr=8-2

Thanks anyway

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    so you tied to use a new rotor with contaminated pads. buy some we pads. while waiting for the pads to arrive. clean the rotors and the callipers with some cycle brake cleaner.

never let oil or brake fluid need the pads.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • nicklouse wrote:
    so you tied to use a new rotor with contaminated pads. buy some we pads. while waiting for the pads to arrive. clean the rotors and the callipers with some cycle brake cleaner.

never let oil or brake fluid need the pads.

No, I changed both the pads and the rotor and It still doesn't work. The pads are brand new.
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    The old rotor contaminated the new pads. The new pads then contaminated the new rotor.

Buy new pads, clean the rotor and start again.
  • supersonic wrote:
    The old rotor contaminated the new pads. The new pads then contaminated the new rotor.

Buy new pads, clean the rotor and start again.

Ok, whats the best way to clean the rotor?
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    edited September 2012