3 bottom brackets in 3 years... WHY?

gailm61
gailm61 Posts: 2
edited September 2012 in The Crudcatcher
I have a Ridgeback Panorama. I have had to replace the bottom bracket yearly despite not completing nearly the required mileage RE needing a replacement. What could be wrong with the bike? or whatever ?

I am not technically minded tbh. . . .any ideas gratefully recieved

Gail

Comments

• benpinnick
    benpinnick Posts: 4,148
    Do you own a jet wash?
    A Flock of Birds
    + some other bikes.
  • njee20
    njee20 Posts: 9,613
    There is no required mileage, I've killed BB bearings in no time at all! One of those things
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    I blame Wiggle.
    Doesn't seem fair to give a proper cruddie answer.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • never mind 3 in a year, my bike went through3 of them in the 1st 4 weeks of owning it, turns out they were slightly to big for the frame and halfords didn't realise. Now i'm on my fourth one in 3 years, also been through 3 cranks and chainsets, also worn away one rear cassette and knackered a front gear mech and been through 8 pairs of brake cables and gear cables, buckled 2 sets of wheels (front and back) and had to have a wheel rebuild aswell on the back because of 5broken spokes.

All this without going near a trail or rough ground, just my daily commute to work which is only 13 miles round trip over a path

my bike is a carrera vulcan disc 2009, never buying a bike from halfords again, poor service and rude staff
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Diddums. Nice whinge.
    Seeing as the components are common to millions of bikes, I suggest you are rubbish at maintenance.
    Or something.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • benpinnick
    edited September 2012