Full suspension AM Bike ~£1000 (or £1800 for NEW)

Milko_
Milko_ Posts: 23
edited September 2012 in MTB buying advice
Hi, I'm fairly new to the 'real' mountain biking, just making my first baby pedal strokes now -
my first and only 'good' bike was Kona Dawg Deluxe 2007.
So I'm aiming to get something that feels as a considerable upgrade over my old Dawg.
I like riding cross country, 1-2 day trips, but at the same time I really enjoy steep descends,
jumping off of things and the more Enduro/DH style (or the idea of that at least, considering my level of skills at this point).
Due to recent budget cuts and the state of global economy(haha)
I'll have to be able to do both with one bike - and therefore my conclusion is to get an All-mountain type of ride - Ideally 150mm travel. Feel free to correct me if I appear to be absolutely clueless in what I'm supposed to get in order to fulfil the requirements from above.

I'm leaning towards Scott Ransom, because it's the cheapest and I like the design, but I'm yet to find a good
review for it. That proprietary shock...and 5 years old? Fox 36 Van sounds good, but spring?

Also, what suspension should I be looking for or trying to avoid in general?
(I'm ~60kg if that matters) Air? Hydraulic? Spring?
What would be the best way to test it to see if it's not blown out or stuck apart from taking it to the trail?
A friend had an old Bomber and it felt as if a rigid fork would've had more travel.

Unfortunately, because second hand bikes are going quite quickly I won't be able to test ride all of them, so your input would be of amazing value!

TL;DR - I'm looking for an AM full susser around £1000 if possible.

And the contenders so far are:

Giant Trance x2 2010 @ £1500
Scott Ransom 30 2007 @ £800
Giant Reign X1 2008 @ £1000
Spacialized Enduro Expert FSR 2009 @ £1200
Trek Fuel EX9 2011 @ £1500

(1500 would be the absolute stretch, and only if it's really worth it)
Other suggestions are warmly welcome!