CAAD10 - wheels, tyres, brake pads, and bar tape upgrades

jimmm
jimmm Posts: 202
edited September 2012 in Road buying advice
I'm still relatively new to road cycling - but have caught the bug big time, and therefore want to upgrade some components of my CAAD10, when it goes in for it's first service at the LBS this week. The bike is going to be used all year, most weathers, and all types of cycling (commute and weekend rides) - so I need to make it a tough all rounder!

The first thing to upgrade is going to be the wheelset - as I have read this will make the biggest difference. At present I am running the stock Shimano RS10s. My budget is around the £400 mark - and I know it is recommended to go for hand-built - but I think I have opted to buy factory built. From my research I have narrowed it down to either the Mavic Ksyrium Elite or the Fulcrum Racing 3s. I can get the Ksyrium for £380, and the Fulcrums for a bit less at £360. I weigh 80kg, and am looking for a lightish pair of wheels that will handle both my daily commute, but also my speedier and longer weekend rides. The hubs and bearings will also need to be able to survive the wet weather...or be easily maintained/replaceable. What would be the best out of these two - or should I be considering others? Will I notice a big difference upgrading from the RS10s at this price range?

I've seen it is recommended to put in new brake pads when you get new wheels. I think I will be going for SwissStop GHP II Pads, as I have read that they are good in all weather conditions, and also don't leave too much muck? I can get two pairs of these for £20 - so will consider any other pads for around the same price?