Couple of questions

Mtaylor2012
Mtaylor2012 Posts: 44
edited August 2012 in MTB beginners
Ok so im looking to get my first bike in a while, and im not asking on what bike i should buy, just what components i should be looking at.... just to give you a bit of background, i plan on jumping in at the deep end so to speak and getting myself up cannock chase to learn the hard way.

1) I dont have much knowledge when it comes to repairs, im willing to learn but from a starting point should i look at hydraulic or mechanical disc brakes? i understand that hydraulic are far superior but arent they much more difficult to maintain/set up?

2) air suspension forks with remote lockout? Again i apologise here if i sound like a total noob but im assuming this is for flat terrain so your not bouncing about the place?

3) When im starting out does fork travel matter too much? Im guessing (again) the more travel the better? Im mainly looking at hardtails ( like the voodoo hoodoo) around the 400-500 mark.

4) tyre thickness, most of the MTB's im looking at have between 1.9-2.25 width tyres fitted. Does this make much of a difference?

Sorry if anything ive asked seems really basic, but im trying to get as much information into my head before i start what i fear is going to be a very expensive additction of mine! But i suppose its better than drugs 8)
2013 Cube Analog
2011 GT aggressor - For sale

Comments

• warpcow
    warpcow Posts: 1,448
    1. Hydrualics are mostly superior, especially at that price-point. Mechanical are actually a little more difficult to set up properly. It's just a different kind of maintenance, I wouldn't say one was more difficult than the other.
    2. Air suspension is more adjustable for a broader selection of riders and also lighter. Remote lockout is a matter of choice, but imo pretty pointless in most situations (you can always lockout the fork from the top of the leg instead).