Getting into cycling - newbie questions

chegu07
chegu07 Posts: 3
edited August 2012 in Road beginners
So I'm looking at buying a road bike, but being a full time student I only have £275 to spend. Are there any websites that do half decent bikes for that sort of price or would it be a case of trawling through ebay for a good deal?

I know absolutely nothing about bike brands or anything and I've seen that Viking bikes are all really cheap; 1) what are downtube shifters? (many of those seem to have them and ive only ever seen the gear shifters you get on the handlebars from my mountain bikes as a kid) and 2) would it be worth buying one of those?

How long can I expect a bike in this sort of price range to last me? And how much should I expect to spend to get a decent upgrade after that?

And finally, are you allowed to cycle on A roads? I'm at uni in Lincoln and come back to Nottingham almost every weekend so I'd try and bike it but I wasn't sure if riding on A roads/dual carriage ways was legal/wise as some parts of the road don't have pavements. Or would it be a better idea to find a route through country roads and avoid the main roads?

Comments

• Just a little above your price range but the Triban 3 gets good reviews on here.

http://www.decathlon.co.uk/triban-3-id_8167038.html#more_infos
    "You really think you can burn off sugar with exercise?" downhill paul
  • lc1981
    lc1981 Posts: 820
    The current cheap bike of choice seems to be the B’Twin Triban 3, after it got a really good review in Cycling Active. You can read the review (part of a group test) via the links here. From what I've seen of Viking bikes, I would steer clear of them. Downtube shifters went out of fashion in the 1990s and they're only really used on very cheap road bikes these days (and perhaps retro-style road bikes further up the price scale).