Saddle sore - sensitive bits!

KarenM
KarenM Posts: 3
edited December 2016 in Women
Hi - I'm fairly new to MTB; I'm finding that if I'm in the saddle for more than an hour so so, and especially if there is alot of up-hill, my most sensitive bits get very saddle sore/chaffed!!
I've tried tilting my saddle down slightly but this doesn't seem to help.
I wear padded liners. Saddle is just the one that came with the bike.
Any suggestions much appreciated!

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Maybe try a Specialized Body Geometry saddle? they also have fitting centres where they can look at the sit bones etc.
  • Chunkers1980
    Chunkers1980 Posts: 8,035
    Do you have a women specific saddle at the moment?

My missus moved to one and finds it much better.
  • 2nd the Specialized Body Geometry saddle.
  • KarenM
    KarenM Posts: 3
    Thanks for the advice - any further thoughts welcome.

I have a women's specific bike (Boardman Comp) - assume it came with a women's specific saddle but maybe it's just the colour!
  • Agree with the other posters get a specialized BG saddle. Do not get a large padded saddle they make the problem worse not better.
  • The important thing is to get a saddle of the right width. This means it matches the width of your "sit bones" (aka ischial tuberosities or protuberances). Our pelvises are generally wider than men's, for obvious reasons, and so we need saddles specifically designed for women (D4W, WSD, etc). It makes no difference whether you are fat or thin - the bones will still be in the same place!

Women's saddles generally come in three sizes:
    Small (approx 130mm)
    Medium (approx 143mm)
    Large (approx 155mm)

Small and medium tend to be better for road cycling, where you are bent forward.

Medium and large are preferred for MTB, with a more upright position.