Does Using SPD Pedals Encourage Bad Technique?

albus16
albus16 Posts: 18
edited August 2012 in MTB beginners
I know, I know - there are a million and one SPD threads and I'm sorry for starting another one but my situation is slightly different.

I'm a newbie but beginning to improve rapidly but my basic techniques still needs work. I managed to get an absolute bargain on some SPD pedals and shoes from CRC and thought I would give them a try as I am finding my feet coming off the pedals quite a lot recently.

My dilemma is this: whilst I am still learning fundamental skills and techniques of MTBing, is it a bad idea to use SPD pedals? I have a lot to learn still so should I hold off and improve a bit more in terms of technical ability first? Are SPD pedals likely to get me into bad habits?

Any input would be appreciated!

Alex

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Just use whatever feels right for you and enjoy yourself.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • When I started my feet were coming off the pedals all the time and whacking my shins, i spent the rirst 4 months looking like I had been savaged by a dog. But, some grippy pedals such as MG1's and perseverance and i never have a problem now. I have spds on my road bike i just bought and dont see a massive amount of difference with regards to efficiency. I'd keep persevering with the flats.
    My biggest fear is that should I crash, burn and die, my Wife would sell my stuff based upon what I told her I paid for it.
  • YeehaaMcgee
    YeehaaMcgee Posts: 5,740
    cooldad wrote:
    Just use whatever feels right for you and enjoy yourself.
    Whilst I echo this sentiment, if your feet are coming off the pedals all the time on flats, then yes, something is wrong with your technique.