Would like to add more gears, please advise

rossyl
rossyl Posts: 26
edited August 2012 in The workshop
Hi,

I have a road bike and struggle to climb hills. I find the "lowest" gear for hill climbs is a bit all-or-nothing. Either I race up it or I don't get up it at all...and lets just say I'm not in a state where I can race up it :wink:

I am also a complete novice, so would be grateful if you could please explain in the most simple terms!

The gear shifters are Sora flightdeck

So here's what I've got (please click on thumbnail for a large image):

img20120731193528.th.jpg

img20120731193553.th.jpg

I'd be grateful if someone could advise on the cheapest way to add low gears to ease climbing hills.

Thanks very much guys
R

Comments

• lc1981
    lc1981 Posts: 820
    Do you want more gears, lower gears or a greater range of gears? The second and third options just require a new cassette, or possibly chainrings depending on what you've got at the moment (it's hard to count the teeth from the photo!), whereas the first option would require new derailleurs and shifters as well. There's a thread that covers all this here.
  • rossyl
    Hi

Thanks for the response.

I would like to add gears to ease going up hills only, nothing else. I'd also like to do this as cheaply as possible.

I have read that thread, however, most of the information goes over my head. I'm a bit stuck as I'm not really able to knowledgeably assess what I have.

I'd be grateful for a bit more direction/instruction on what my options are.

My idea is to buy off eBay and then find a local bike shop to fit it.

Larger pictures of ther gears can be found here:

https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/j ... directlink

https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/K ... directlink

These photos are zoom-able.

many many thanks for the help
  • lc1981