Solo trip around brittany (from roscoff) - advice for newbie

snakeeater
snakeeater Posts: 113
edited August 2012 in Tour & expedition
Hi,
I'm trying to plan a spur of the moment cycling break for myself (away from the wife and kids - permission has been granted!) before I start a new job. I've got around 10 days for myself and I decided to do what I always fancied but never got round to doing. So, in my haste I have booked a ferry crossing from Plymouth to Roscoff and am now trying to organise everything else that goes with a small tour such as this. I've never done any touring before, but have been an avid road racer for a couple of decades so the fitness is not a problem per se. The problem is mainly my growing lack of self confidence (hence why I am determined to do this trip) and ability to just do something off my own back while I have time away from the family.

I've got a checklist of stuff which I need to have done before the trip e.g. buying equipment, trial run on putting up the tent etc. I haven't pre-booked any accommodation at campsites or planned a loosely based route yet. So, I have a few questions which I am hoping some of you can answer...

I have a winter hack bike with mudguards and rear blackburn rack and some crossover tyres, but the rest of the equipment on the bike has been hand downs from my race bikes. As a result, my gearing is 39/53 x 12-25 non compact c/set. I've got a mini pump plus one of those gadget pumps that take reloadable cannisters of compressed air (4 cannisters in all). I've got front and rear bike lights (front light to be used as a torch at campsites - its a USE Toro make). I've just purchased some altura panniers, shimano touring shoes, spd pedals, baggy shorts, padded liner shorts. What else do I need to buy for the bike with the above taken into account?

Non bike equipment I have are:
Small Trangia unit for cooking - need to buy the brulee fuel for it - should I do this in uk or when I get to france?