Computer sensor mounting

Snailpace-Bob
Snailpace-Bob Posts: 36
edited August 2012 in Road beginners
Hi there. I'm very new to road cycling and after buying my bike this year I can safely say that Ive been bitten by the bug. My next item on the hit list is a cycle computer and I wondered if it would be possible to fit the sensor and magnet to the rear wheel? Cant really convince the Mrs that £200 is ok to spend for a gps model so wireless is the way to go, BUT I like the look of my bike and dont want to spoil it with a big chunky sensor on the forks.

Comments

• declan1
    declan1 Posts: 2,470
    Hi there. I'm very new to road cycling and after buying my bike this year I can safely say that Ive been bitten by the bug. My next item on the hit list is a cycle computer and I wondered if it would be possible to fit the sensor and magnet to the rear wheel? Cant really convince the Mrs that £200 is ok to spend for a gps model so wireless is the way to go, BUT I like the look of my bike and dont want to spoil it with a big chunky sensor on the forks.

I don't see why not, but the sensor may be too far away from the unit. Some computers only have a 50cm or so range so it may not work, but give it a try!

Road - Dolan Preffisio
    MTB - On-One Inbred

I have no idea what's going on here.
  • Gizmodo
    Gizmodo Posts: 1,928
    Bryton Rider 20, GPS so no need for a wheel sensor at all and you can start using Strava! How much? £90 from Evans, if you wait for a special offer you can get an extra 10% off.
  • Thanks for the advice but for now I need to stay in the bargain section. Spent a fortune on bike and kit in the last few weeks.
  • rsands
    rsands Posts: 60
    I have a cateye strada wireless that i dont use no more. Had it on bike for 200 odd miles and then went gps. (24 quid posted if you want to buy it :D). But i could fire it onto bike see if it will read from back wheel. My garmin does read from back wheel all time.
  • mkviken
    mkviken Posts: 217