Creaking crank

feelgoodlost
feelgoodlost Posts: 309
edited August 2012 in Workshop
Hello there,

I'm a bit of a noob with all things road bikes. I've been riding a Cannondale Synapse. The bike was bought new and I've been riding it for around 3-4 months. I've noticed a bit of a problem with the crank, in that it just seems to creak really badly when it's been dry for a few days. I've tightened all the bolts/screws etc. as much as I can but it still seems to persist. Only when it rains heavily for a day or two, does it seem to go away.

Like I say, I'm a bit of a noob and don't really know the best way to fix it, apart from taking the whole thing apart.

Surely with the bike being relatively new, I shouldn't be experiencing these problems? It's pretty difficult to prove to the shop when it only happens in certain circumstances. I've had the bike in and out of the shop that many times now that I'm pretty sick of being without my bike for 3-4 days at a time.

Any help/opinions would be most welcome!

Cheers

Comments

• Wirral_paul
    Wirral_paul Posts: 2,476
    The creak can come from many places in that area - bottom bracket cup, crank to BB, chainring bolt, pedal, pedal cleat.

So many options that when it happens, i tend to just strip the whole lot down and then check, clean and lube everything upon reassembly and hope for the best. Tends to work and a lot faster than trying to locate a mystery creak. If that fails then its time to start looking at worn parts - bearings or cleats are the obvious ones.

However, noting where in the crank rotation the creak happens can help narrow it down a little.
  • surfgod
    surfgod Posts: 97