Photography and cycling

Hoopdriver
Hoopdriver Posts: 2,023
edited July 2012 in Commuting chat
Some of you may know that I write a cycling blog called My Bicycle and I - and by way of introduction for those who don't I am a magazine writer and photographer who happens to love cycling and bicycles, and in order to give myself an outlet for cycling inspired writings and photographs I started this blog some months ago. Now, I have been shooting photos for many years - travel stuff mainly, but journalistic stuff as well when I was with Time Magazine - but it wasn't until I began shooting for the blog that I realized how tricky it can be tying to get decent shots of yourself on a bicycle. Over the past few months I have shot many thousands of frames using self timers, remote shutter releases and learned a fair few tricks on how to compose a shot when you're not yet in it - stuff that I really wish I had known when I was doing a lot of touring on my own. And so I am starting a series of posts about travel photography and cycling, and how to take on-the-road photos of yourself when you're traveling on your own - or in a group, for that matter, when you want everybody in the shot and up and moving.

The first post - today's, on cameras - is here:

http://my-bicycle-and-i.co.uk/2012/phot ... -the-road/

I hope you'll find it useful.

Comments

• dhope
    dhope Posts: 6,699
    Haven't read it but certainly will. Much appreciated
    Rose Xeon CW Disc
    CAAD12 Disc
    Condor Tempo
  • Kieran_Burns
    Kieran_Burns Posts: 9,757
    You may just have decided my next camera for me!

(still using an old Olympus e-10 and want a good digital to replace it and preferred a compact)
    Chunky Cyclists need your love too! :-)
    2009 Specialized Tricross Sport
    2011 Trek Madone 4.5
    2012 Felt F65X
    Proud CX Pervert and quiet roadie. 12 mile commuter
  • Hoopdriver