What to spend my first bike bucks on - Frame or Components?

MikeAchilles
MikeAchilles Posts: 5
edited July 2012 in Road beginners
Hi All, total newbie here and hoping for some tips on what is best to spend my first modest budget on(£850).....frame or components?

Looked around and seen the following two on CRC website, BeOne Mistral Race Road Bike 2011 with Ultegra at £839.00 or Corratec Dolomiti 105 Compact 2012 at £839.99

Or do I go for a carbon frame, such as a Ribble Evo Pro Carbon though my budget would only allow me to get Tiagra (I'd have to creep up to £875)?

Any advise what I should do?

Cheers
Mike

Comments

• Mickyg88
    Mickyg88 Posts: 289
    Go for the ribble, you could upgrade the tiagra later if you feel the need to, but will probably find it quite satisfactory for at least a couple of years, no contest.
  • ilm_zero7
    ilm_zero7 Posts: 2,213
    agree...
    http://veloviewer.com/SigImage.php?a=3370a&r=3&c=5&u=M&g=p&f=abcdefghij&z=a.png
    Wiliers: Cento Uno/Superleggera R and Zero 7. Bianchi Infinito CV and Oltre XR2
  • sungod
    sungod Posts: 16,515
    frame

aside from minor differences in weight/stiffness/shifting, the groupset makes little difference

if you know your size, have a look at secondhand, that can get you much better value than new - cycling weekly classifieds etc. (rather than ebay or thieftree) as i think ads there are more likely to be for decent bikes that've been well maintained and aren't stolen
    my bike - faster than god's and twice as shiny
  • Thanks Mickyg88, ILM Zero 7 and sungod for your replies.

got cycling weekly, but nothing my size in my budget which caught my eye (like eye candy if possible!) so went to two local bike shops this morning. Cheapest Carbon set up they had\was\£1500, way over my budget.