Too old to start racing??

Olly1985
Olly1985 Posts: 6
edited July 2012 in Amateur race
I'm new to road cycling and loving every minute of it. have a decent level of fitness from other sports and previous job. Would love to use the winter to get as fit as possible then start to enter cat 4 races next summer.

What kind of ages did you guys first compete in these type events??

Comments

• jibberjim
    jibberjim Posts: 2,810
    Who cares.

Enter races now if you want to.
    Jibbering Sports Stuff: http://jibbering.com/sports/
  • wheezee
    wheezee Posts: 461
    Anyone born after 1986 can give it a go. Otherwise...
  • How old are you?????

Just ride and ride and ride - then race

I'm in my late 40's hadn't ridden for over 25 years and am racing road and track against the youngun's - have upgraded my licence this first year on the road.

What do you want to hear - your too old just sit back and watch the telly.

If you want to race - get a licence and race.

To start with you might get a kicking you might not.

If you get beat then train more/harder. That is all there is to it.
  • richk
    richk Posts: 564
    if you're over 40 then LVRC could be an option
    There is no secret ingredient...
  • dulldave
    dulldave Posts: 949
    Come to the Rothesay Weekend in September. There will be people of all ages with a handicapped Road Race on the Sunday. OK plug over...

http://www.rothesayweekend.co.uk/
    Scottish and British...and a bit French
  • proto
    proto Posts: 1,483
    After a 40 year break from racing, I entered the Imperial Race Team Hillingdon Winter series 4th Cat races last year at the grand age of 58. So if can do it, anyone can!

Four ambitions for the series:
    1) Just finish. Any position, just finish.
    2) Finish without getting lapped
    3) Finish in the bunch.
    4) Get a point, just one.