General Advice

Djd3737
Djd3737 Posts: 82
Hi,

I am just after some general advice on the cycling I am doing, I started riding at the end of April this year.

My original plan was to look at joining a club this year to get to grips with riding in a group and then trying a sportive, but am unable to get the time at weekends currently to do this, so I have fallen into a routine of doing around 50km every other morning. I have to go out before work and get back in time to help get the kids ready for school/nursery.

My new "plan" is to this year just concentrate on doing some consistent riding, use a turbo over the winter and then look at doing some club stuff and hopefully something competitive next year.

As I have to ride early (5:30) I really do not fancy eating before I go out, so go out on an empty stomach and just drink squash during the ride, this has been ok so far other than a couple of times where I have run out of energy (had some sample energy bars which I eat and then limped home). Is this an issue, will it become an issue as I push harder on what is a pretty short distance (when compared to other riders on Strava)?

The only thing I have started doing this week, is to have an SIS recovery shake after my ride, the theory being this then allows me to wait until I get into work to have my breakfast (which helps with the mad rush after I get back and if I believe the packet will do wonders for my recovery), is this a waste of time/money?

Is it worth doing strecting or something on my non-ride days?

My stats if it is relevant are:
Weight: 161lb/73kg
Height: 6'2"
Bike: Specialized Allez Compact

I realise this is a bit of an aimless post, but I do not know anyone who rides so just want a bit of a sanity check.

Cheers

Steve

Comments

• DavidJB
    DavidJB Posts: 2,019
    Stretch every day but no cold stretching as it does nothing.