Going tubeless?

captainbligh
captainbligh Posts: 35
edited July 2012 in MTB general
Hi,

I have tubeless ready rims + Schwalbe Nobby Nic "tubeless ready" tires.

A) Do I need sealant or can be without it? How am I to do the conversion? (Sorry I am new to tubeless, no clue)
B) Is there any weight gain or loss?
C) By riding on pavement, with really high pressure, would I wear them out fast? I do about 100 miles a week on pavement, unfortunately.

Comments

• paul.skibum
    paul.skibum Posts: 4,068
    a) You need sealant, there are kits that give you the valve and sealant and so on. Dont have them myself so am no expert.
    b) It should be lighter than a tube set up as you dont have the tube (although you do have some sealant) should certainly improve rolling but if you are travelling to work I'd carry a tube in case of puncutre so you can still get there!
    c) 100miles on paved roads will definitely wear your tires down - rather than trashing the nobby nics I'd probably get either another set of slick tires to swap them with OR (depending on budget) a cheap alternate wheelset with slicks, discs and cassette to just drop in and out as needed.
    Closet jockey wheel pimp whore.
  • AlanW
    AlanW Posts: 291
    The gains are about being able to run a much lower pressure in order to get more grip and without the fear of getting pinch punctures, which in your case is irrelevant really.

If you are doing 100 miles a week on the road, I would question if its worth the effort going tubeless to be honest? I assume that you will be riding those ride miles with off road tyres? If so then they wont last you very long and replacing tyres when you are tubeless is not the easiest or quickest jobs to do.