Volcano Live

ddraver
ddraver Posts: 26,348
edited July 2012 in The bottom bracket
As a professional geologist I would like to personally, effusively ( :wink: ) and humbly apologise for the utter utter shite that was Volcano Live with Kate Humble! I have never been so ashamed of my career choice.

Please be assured the the reality is so much more interesting than that!
We're in danger of confusing passion with incompetence
- @ddraver

Comments

• graham.
    graham. Posts: 862
    These "Live" programes never work for me. This one got turned off the second time volcanologists were described as "Volcano scientists". :x
  • MattC59
    MattC59 Posts: 5,408
    Was going watch it, but a short sharp "No f*cking way, I've just sat through three hours of the Tour, I'm not watching this sh*te !" from Mrs C.

Sounds like I dodged a bullet.
    Science adjusts it’s beliefs based on what’s observed.
    Faith is the denial of observation so that Belief can be preserved
  • solosuperia
    solosuperia Posts: 333
    First I must put my cards on the table....... I think Kate Crumble is one of the worst presenters on TV!
    There I've said it. She does the Tony Blair thing "Over.....There .....Is ..... Lava". annoying gaps between words,I guess she thinks it gives them gravitas.

TV "personalities" are pants at fronting nature/scientific, indeed any documentary. It ends up about them not the subject. Use an expert in the field to present the subject, they enthuse with sincerity rather than look at me!

Another one I can't stand is Baldrick, can't remember his real name(don't care). As Baldrick brilliant, as a presenter on "Time Team" or such..... It is not about you.

Sorry about that rant, but do feel strongly on the subject.

I must add the lads down the Pub reckon what Kate Crumble needs is a good.............................?
  • Bunneh
    Bunneh Posts: 1,329