Gadgets and improving faster

TheEnglishman
TheEnglishman Posts: 587
I'm wondering if getting a heartrate and/or a cadence sensor will get me improving faster from a complete beginner's point of view.

I'm looking at the wahoo stuff and linking it in with my iPhone - I don't really want another gadget when the iPhone seems perfectly capable.

I know my cadence is all over the place and kind of assume that if a big screen in front of me is telling me what rpm I'm doing I'll learn to keep a constant cadence quicker?

And I'm guessing a heartrate sensor will enable me to stay 'in the zone' better so I'll get fitter quicker?

Basically I'm clueless but could do with a bit of guidance on what, if any, bits of kit would be beneficial to improving my fitness and ability

Comments

• jonomc4
    jonomc4 Posts: 891
    I don't have a heart rate monitor but I do have a cadence checker on my bike PC - I found that really helped me improve my riding and now a decent cadence has become second nature. When I fist got it my cadence was about 70 - now it is an average of about 90.
  • t.m.h.n.e.t
    t.m.h.n.e.t Posts: 2,265
    Cadence and HR made the biggest difference for me. I can generally hold a given cadence and it matches well with HR.

Result is I feel smoother,faster and seeing working HR come down slowly is inspirational. My distance also increased dramatically.
  • bahzob
    bahzob Posts: 2,195
    A cadence sensor would be a useful investment.

You don't mention if you already have a speedo/odometer.

Need something like this to be able to measure output. Training is really just about being able to increase output for a given input. If you ever get really serious about training you may want to invest in a power meter which gives the best information on output. But until then a speedo can act as a good substitute.
    Martin S. Newbury RC