Virgin cyclone (Northumberland)

darrena8
darrena8 Posts: 74
Any 1 doing the cyclone this weekend in Northumberland? Any 1 done it before?

Comments

• Penfold06
    Penfold06 Posts: 161
    Just signed up for the long route today, nice to have a sportive on my doorstep rather than having to drive for hours before I even get riding!

This is my first time for this one but from what I've heard it's meant to be a great event. Should be a good few thousand people doing it.

Which distance have you signed up for?
  • darrena8
    Doing the 63 miler mate, from what I've seen there is 1450 people signed up to this one alone so it should be a great atmosphere
  • Penfold06
    Penfold06 Posts: 161
    Yeah they have a limit of 4500 people and I think they are expecting it to sell out, I just hope they won't have us queuing up for ages before hand. Although with that many people they probably will. I only live half an hour away so I might go through the day before to get registered at leazes park, that way I'll be able to turn up and get going straight away on saturday. Are you coming far?
  • I'm tying it in with a visit to see some family. Should be a good day out if the weather is kind to us!
    Twitter: @FunkyMrMagic
  • McNulty
    McNulty Posts: 63
    the weather isnt looking great tbf....
    this one says the wind will be bad (with a bit of rain)

http://www.xcweather.co.uk/forecast/rothbury

and this one says not quite as bad wind but lots of rain!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/weather/2639101

great. :cry:
  • darrena8
    good old british summer eh? iam sure it will be a good day whatever the weather just hope i can get over the ryals :P
  • DonutDad
    DonutDad Posts: 104
    Yeah I've been waiting for the bbc 5 day forecast to include saturday - looks rubbish.