HELP!! Mountain bike weekend in Wales

Potsie2518
Potsie2518 Posts: 25
edited June 2012 in Routes
Can anyone please help me, ive just returned from Afghan and am trying to get a group of us to go away for the weekend mountain biking in North Wales, the only problem being is i want the the trail centre to have everything we need! Meaning:

Being a trail centre for one.
To have a camp site (or very nearby).
Also to have a bike hire shop.

It sounds so simple i know but i just keep being redirected continously to different links. I do like the sound of the 'new mountain bike centre in Blaenau Ffestiniog'

Does anyone know if this has everything i need? the dates im looking at are from the 27th - 2nd August if so please let me know asap please, including links and guides if need be.

Thanks for your help guys and if you havent already worked this out im new to all of this so your time will be really apprciated.

William
Thanks guys

Comments

• welshkev
    welshkev Posts: 9,690
    i'd say either llandegla - but there's only 1 trail really, bike hire, visitors centre

or coed y brenin - loads of trails, visitors centre, bike hire and camping near by.

check out: http://www.mbwales.com or

http://www.trailguru.co.uk/

i'd say that coed y brenin is the better option personally :D
  • angry_bird
    angry_bird Posts: 3,786
    +1 For CyB, there's enough there to keep you happy for a weekend.
  • Majski
    Majski Posts: 443
    Coed y brenin without a doubt. Blenau Ffestiniog isn't open yet, and when it does the trail center / XC stuff won't be open till november.

I recommend Cae Gwyn Farm for accmoodation http://caegwynfarm.co.uk/ they have a campsite, bunkhouse and touring caravan to rent, secure bike storage, self catering facilities, bike wash, shower block etc. It's about a 10 minute ride to the trail centre so you can leave the car there during the day and just take your bikes kit with you.