Tyre advice

Leigh Rough Riders
Leigh Rough Riders Posts: 36
edited June 2012 in MTB buying advice
I am an advancing novice XC track and trail etc mountain bike rider who needs some help with tyre set up. So am looking for expert advice from those who know and have used many different types of the better make tyres.
I do not have tubeless rims and am still using V-brakes.

I am looking for a strong, reliable, all rounder, all year, all terrain, all season, fast rolling ‘summer’ tyre. Ok you are going to tell me there isn’t one, but which is the best tyre to go for (front and back), for mainly use in spring, summer and autumn, on trails, tracks, single tracks, paths, roads, but that can handle wet roots and wet rocks plus loose ground and mud. Plus the odd ride in winter, and preferably one that does not puncture so easy.
I have been looking at 2.1 and 2.2 tyres (26in x 2.2ish fast rolling XC / Trail tyre with good grip), but would I be better with wider tyres?

What is the benefit of folding over wired? Which is better and why? Which are strongest and lighter?
Which compounds are best, and can grippy tactile rubber roll fast? Which is best for fast rolling but gripping wet roots etc, or is that a contradiction?
What does ‘PSC’, and ‘WCS’ stand for, or mean?
Is it best to mix and use different tyres front and back?

Basically what would you advise for my type of riding and why?
Thanks!
LRRs

Comments

• Greer_
    Greer_ Posts: 1,716
    Your dream tyre doesn't exist! Its a well asked question.

Folding is better IMO as it's far lighter. I wouldn't think there's much difference in strength.

Grippy rubbers are for grip, so they're more likely to drag.

Most people prefer to use different tyres, a grippy one at the front and a low rolling resistance tyre on the back.

An example would be a Nobby Nic on the front and a Racing Ralph on the back.
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Often folding tyres come in better compounds.
    I don't do smileys.