Broken Chain

dezzie30
dezzie30 Posts: 8
edited July 2012 in The workshop
I'm a beginner when it comes to bikes so bear with me! I recently took my bike in to repair due to a pedal falling off it seems i had cross threaded the arm when i installed it. I had to have a new chain set and pedals (60 pound!) when I rode the bike to work from the repair shop the chain snapped after a mile's ride! Now the bike is new (done about 10 miles) does the fault lie with the repair shop when they put the new chain set on? I'm taking it back tomorrow and don't want to pay if it's their fault. My bike is a Rockrider 5.0.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    The chain should last longer than that. It is not your fault.
  • Initialised
    Initialised Posts: 3,047
    I've had this happen after breaking and refitting the chain for cleaning or maintenance. So chances are they messed up refitting your chain. Once it happened on my first commute on my first day of a new job and I begged a bike shop on route to sort me out, they did and I bought the tool for the job there and then! It's always it the saddle bag as you never know when you'll need it.

It's a five minute job to get it back on with a decent chain tool. Any half decent shop will do it for nothing but take the opportunity to watch what they do so you can do it your self next time.

I think BR did a video guide on it recently.
    http://www.bikeradar.com/mtb/gear/artic ... ain-33955/

I've been using this since I broke my last one and have found it better than any other chain tool I've tried:

park-ct5-compact-chain-brute.jpg

I've tried both SRAM and Shimano easy fit links but prefer to do it properly.
    I used to just ride my bike to work but now I find myself going out looking for bigger and bigger hills.
  • dezzie30
    dezzie30 Posts: 8