Is my bike too big????

scoobydoo8319
scoobydoo8319 Posts: 2
edited June 2012 in Road beginners
Hiya,

Only just found this website and I have learnt so much in the last few weeks, thank you.

I started riding road bikes about a year because I was doing the London Triathlon. When I bought my first road bike I didn't really have a clue what to look for, so i trusted the salesman in the shop for sizing and choosing the right bike for me, but with the experience of riding and watching others on their bikes I'm not sure if my bike is too big, I feel as if I'm over stretching to reach the handlebars. I have done the measuring the inside leg and x0.67 and this appears to show I have the right size frame 58 (I'm 6'1"). Does this sound about right?

Where should my head be in relation to the stem?

also, my stem is 130mm. Would getting a smaller stem alleviate this problem of felling as if I'm stretching to reach the handlebars ?

Comments

• Wirral_paul
    Wirral_paul Posts: 2,476
    Assuming your saddle is in the right place then as a rough guide, with your hands on the hoods and and in your normal riding position, looking towards the front of the hub - is it in front or behind the handlebars. If it is hidden then you are pretty close. If the hub appears to the rear of the bars then you could probably do with a shorter reach.

This could be either a shorter stem, or moving the saddle forwards. Always get the saddle set in relation to your cranks first though. There's a few online guides that should help
  • blackhands
    blackhands Posts: 950
    The right size for you can in no way be decided by posts on this forum. Once, frame size (seat tube length) was important as seat pins were shorter and weaker which dictated the fashion for larger frames. These days, the trend is for smaller frames which are stiffer with more seat pin showing. The 0.67 rule is used to determine the starting point and is not the final solution. The key measurement is saddle height.