The Tyne and Wear Commuter Thread

jomoj
jomoj Posts: 777
edited October 2019 in Commuting chat
Commute by bike in the Tyne & Wear area? Then this thread is for you to share your routes, tips, stories, rants and general crack about pedalling to work and back in the north east.

Comments

• dhope
    dhope Posts: 6,699
    I'm sure there are other threads about Tyre Wear, just buy Durano Plus' and lets get back to talking about London.
    Rose Xeon CW Disc
    CAAD12 Disc
    Condor Tempo
  • jomoj
    So to kick off, I ride most days from Monkseaton to Newcastle via Battle Hill, Wallsend and then along the river, which is between 11 and 12 miles depending on which route I take.

Usually ride a cyclocross bike which is perfect for mixing up the roads, tracks and waggonways. I’ve been commuting by bike in Newcastle for the last 8 years or so, prior to that I lived in London and used to ride into and across central London regularly. Though it has it’s thrills, I know where I prefer!

Favourite things – being able to do most of the ride off road if I want, riding along the Tyne on a still day, not having to get the Metro.
    Least favourite – broken Lambrini bottles on the bike path, dodging stag and hen dos on the Quayside, howling westerlies that funnel up the tyne valley
  • cyclingprop
    cyclingprop Posts: 2,426
    jomoj wrote:
    Usually ride a cyclocross bike

You have a cape right?
    What do you mean you think 64cm is a big frame?
  • Allez Mark
    Allez Mark Posts: 364
    Commuting from Sunniside to the Team Valley. 4 miles downhill in the morning and back up in the evening. Riding a Spesh Allez 2009.
  • rubertoe
    rubertoe Posts: 3,994
    is tyne and wear a new suburb of London?
    "If you always do what you've always done, you'll always get what you've always got."

PX Kaffenback 2 = Work Horse
    B-Twin Alur 700 = Sundays and Hills
  • veronese68
    veronese68 Posts: 27,252
    rubertoe wrote:
    Norf London innit.
  • jomoj