Beginners Diet

Sicario
Sicario Posts: 25
edited June 2012 in Road beginners
Please forgive me if this is in the wrong section! And forgive me if this is covered 20 times over, I've had a quick check and nothing recent appears?!

I cycle 11 miles a day, round trip. 5.5 to and 5.5 miles from work (occasionally I'll add an additional 10 miles coming home). But typically I'm cycling only for 20-25 minutes each way so hardly a big trip
At weekends I do 60 miles or so. So I would say I am a beginner. But I don't want to be.

I think what is holding me back is my diet :?:

Currently I get out of bed at 7:30 and I am out the door at 8am.
When I get to work I shower, eat a banana and have 500ml of water.

I then won't lunch until 1-2pm when I'll have either
  • Beans on Toast
  • Cottage Cheese, Tomato, Black Pepper and Spring Onion in a roll
  • Pasta (white) with a tomato sauce

Now I know this is not doing me any good. So I have a question...

Would it be better to continue not eating before a ride (given the little time I give myself!) and have the following for breakfast...
Banana, chocolate milk (What UK brand? Is Yazoo any good?!) and a yoghurt

And for lunch have a jacket potato (no idea what filling as I hate tuna!) or continue to have cottage cheese / pasta.

In regards to meat I only eat chicken (ex veggie, I know, don't ask!)
I hate all sea food
I eat any fruit and any veg.

Would someone like to share their diet and when and when not to eat in regards to their ride?

Comments

• alihisgreat
    alihisgreat Posts: 3,872
    edited May 2012
    If you're cycling In the morning and doing it as a fair intensity then it raises your metabolism for the rest of the day..

So its best to start off with something like porridge, or cereal + a banana so you have plenty of energy and you should burn through it before lunch.. then eat what you need at lunch, perhaps having a small snack mid-morning if required.