Carrera Vanquish vs Raleigh AirLite 300

muckyhaud
muckyhaud Posts: 38
edited May 2012 in Road buying advice
Hi all,
I am wanting to purchase a road bike for fitness (to replace running). I have next to zero knowledge on bikes and the tech specs mean nothing to me. I have just found out what tiagra and sora is but that is about it :oops:

As I am only beginning I visited Evans and the guy in the shop said he wouldn't sell me a bike for less than £550 as he couldn't do it to me knowing I would be back having bought a peice of crap! Is that correct, is there really nothing good sub £550?

I have been looking at the Carrera Vanquish. It is £530 at Halfords (was £450 up until last night)
http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/stor ... 65710#dtab

Also the Raleigh Airlite 300 @£489 (£599 at Evans!)
http://www.bikesdirect365.com/products/ ... -Bike.html

So which one, if any? Do you guys recommend either, not found any real reviews on the above bikes. Do yu recommend any other bikes for the similar price.

Finally are there any guides or anything that explain the different parts and what to look for?

Thanks in advance for any help

Comments

• +300000000000000000000000000000 for the vanquish, extremely light, smooth gear change, great components and beautiful ride. all in all amazing value for your money...
    and no i dont work for halfords.
    Carrera Vanquish....
  • Thanks for that,
    Anyone know how the bikes components compare against each other from the spec? Is it pretty similar for the money or is one much better than the other. It is all just words to me at this stage lol
  • mogi
    mogi Posts: 69