Staying awake on 24 hour rides?

I'm doing a 250mile ride from Manchester to Brighton in June which is to be done in a 24hour period. I've got a lot of training in but I've never cycled that far before, 160 is my top to date.
The thing that worries me the most is the actual time awake and moving. I'm no pro rider so over this distance Ill only be averaging around 15mph, meaning that with food breaks and maybe an hour or so rest in the middle there will be no time to sleep.

Does anyone have any tips on food etc to stay awake and focused through the night stage? Caffine highs followed by lows dont sound good to me. There are only two of us and I'm starting to worry about falling asleep at the wheel which I've heard of people doing before :shock:

Will a good sleep prior, plenty of food and the adrenline of the ride be enough?

Its not an official event but Ive made a site for it (http://www.cycling4life.com) if anyone is interested in checking it out / providing feedback.

Cheers

Comments

• vorsprung
    vorsprung Posts: 1,953
    Does anyone have any tips on food etc to stay awake and focused through the night stage?
    • Although you can't "bank" extra sleep you can ensure before an event you have no sleep "debt". So get early nights in the days before the event
    • Caffeine and other stimulants work better if you lay off them before hand. About a week seems to be the minimal period. Caffeine is not an alternative to sleep. I use caffeine if it's two hours to the stop and I feel sleepy.
    • Other ways to stay awake include putting in an effort ( adrenalin wakes you up ) or listening to loud music on an mp3. And of course talking to other riders
    • If you feel really like you are about to fall asleep on the bike then a 10 minute nap will stop this dangerous occurrence. You can do this in almost any circumstances as after 10 minutes you don't cool down (much)