massage

Kona21
Kona21 Posts: 107
edited May 2012 in Amateur race
Do you think there is any benefit of getting the odd massage here and there. I.e one per month before a race you have targeted. Or is it only beneficial when your getting them daily as the pros do?
Currently I'm training on Tuesday, crit race Wednesday, 10 tt Thursday and road race Sunday so its pretty full on.
Opera Super Leonardo
Campag Super Record 11
Corima Aero + wheels
http://www.bikeradar.com/forums/viewtop ... t=12777242

Comments

• Byke_boy
    Byke_boy Posts: 2
    As an ex-massage therapist, I would say that the more massage the better, but anything is better than nothing. If you look for an experienced SPORTS massage therapist, preferably one who has plenty of experience with cyclists, you'll get heaps out of it.

I'd recommend getting your first one after a race as you'll probably be a bit sore the next day-that does depend a lot on you and the therapist. Like anything, you'll get what you pay for and especially if it's an occasional thing, it'll be money well invested.

Good luck! :-)
    Some more personal raves about fitness in general and cycling in particular: http://www.myfitnesstip.com
  • Zoomer37
    Zoomer37 Posts: 725
    If you put in a lot of hard miles then regular massage is superb if you can afford it. Its pretty much essential if you race each week and you want your legs to be as fresh as possible, but yes if its only 1 per month just before a big race you have planned its still more than worth it.
  • apreading
    apreading Posts: 4,535
    I had a sports massage because I have been doing loads of training for a Beach to Beach ride (which is this weekend).