advice on moving position in the bunch

Spaniard
Spaniard Posts: 69
edited May 2012 in Amateur race
I did my first race a few weeks back. I'd been advised to try and stay at the front third of the race. I found this very difficult to do as I was boxed in and didn't want to cross anyones wheel by moving out sideways, consequently I ended up at the back of the bunch hanging on. I also wanted to avoid being either side of the bunch - in the gutter or the white lines. How do you move around in the bunch easily without everyone yelling expletives at you? Any advice appreciated.

Comments

• Herbsman
    Herbsman Posts: 2,029
    Look how other people do it.

Do that.
    CAPTAIN BUCKFAST'S CYCLING TIPS - GUARANTEED TO WORK! 1 OUT OF 10 RACING CYCLISTS AGREE!
  • Spaniard
    Will do. In the meantime does anyone want to let on how they do it? Any tips?
  • ellerslierd
    ellerslierd Posts: 266
    As a novice, I find that sucking it up and taking the wind around the side of the bunch gets the job done, plus makes you stronger of course. There are normally numerous others who are doing the same, and by following a wheel it is manageable. Then you just have to squeeze back into the bunch where you are, or wait for the rider who is inevitably following your wheel up to move over the top, giving you shelter.

I've found that as long as you make it obvious what you are doing, lateral movement in the bunch isn't so bad, you just have to patient. Picking your moment, i.e. on a long straight section, is also important. This is something I am finding much easier/ I am more confident about the more races I have completed.

On a technical course like I raced today in Bath, just sprint hard out of slow corners and you can make places up quickly whilst everything is strung out.

I hope some of that helps, any advice would also be appreciated/much needed here too!
  • jgsi
    jgsi Posts: 5,062