Problems with Tektro Auriga Hydraulic back brake

leweyc
leweyc Posts: 6
edited April 2012 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi,

I'm brand new at mountain biking and looking to get in to it, so I bought a second hand 'hardly used' Specialized Rockhopper 2010 on eBay.

The problem being the back brakes. They feel a bit loose and 'spongy' and I think there might be a part missing on the front? If you look at the picture on this website it actually circles the part that is missing on my front lever.

http://www.tektro.com/_english/01_produ ... rt=1&fid=1

Does anybody know if this could be diagnosed as the problem and know of anywhere I could buy the part?

ANy help would be really appreciated as I'm quite gutted!

Apologies if this is in the wrong place/not relevant to the forums!

Cheers,

Lewis

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Auriga Comps do not have a the tool free reach adjuster.

The brake might need bleeding - you can get bleed kits, or a shop will charge about 15-20 quid.
  • leweyc
    Sorry - I think I have been really vague as I'm not 100% what bike I have!

I know I have Tektro Auriga Pro Hydraulic brakes and luckily I have managed to find the part here...
    http://shop.upgradebikes.co.uk/Catalogu ... ver-Spares

I'm really hoping this will fix the problem!
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Lever reach won't cure spongeyness though.
  • leweyc
    Hm :-/I have just ordered the parts that are missing and I'll have to wait til mid-week for them to arrive so I will let you know how I get on! Thanks for you help supersonic.
  • clydefrog
    clydefrog Posts: 162
    What do "spongey" brakes actually feel like, can anybody give a better description of the feel?
  • leweyc
    Well I use that term cos to me it feels like a build up of air - a bit cushiony?
  • clydefrog
    leweyc wrote:
    Well I use that term cos to me it feels like a build up of air - a bit cushiony?