Commute bike question

sonnyb
sonnyb Posts: 35
edited May 2012 in Commuting general
Hope this is the right place for this...anyway i have been commuting to work, 6 miles a day for the last five years on a Boardman Pro hybrid. The bike has been basically faultless until the last few hundred miles.
I am no bike mechanic but could tell it was not riding right. After six thousand miles it was loose and wobbling all over the place. The spokes on the rear wheel were all loose etc, amongst other things.
Anyway I took it back to Halfords as I have their three year care plan. After assessment they found it needed the wheels re-building, new chain, new cassette, new front sprocket set, new head set, new pedals and essentially the whole drive train! It cost £166, which I was reasonably happy with, as the bike was originally £700, so I knew all those bits would not be cheap. My question is, do members think this is normal for a bike after this sort of usage?

Thanks for any opinions, views..

Comments

• MrChuck
    MrChuck Posts: 1,663
    Depends on things like the conditions you ride in and the maintenance you do on it, but it doesn't sound totally mad. I'd personally expect to get more out of the headset, front chainrings and wheels than that though.

If, say, you don't use mudguards, ride through winter when all the salt is on the road, and never clean the drivetrain then it could well be pretty knackered after a few thousand miles. It''s also true that you often can't change the chain without changing the cassette too, but you can usually get more out of the front chainrings.

The wheels depends too- if they're cup and cone hubs that have been allowed to run loose then they could need replacing.
  • Seems reasonable for a bike that's getting used day-in, day-out in all weathers. You did well to get 6,000 miles out the components, but then maybe you've got a more fastidious cleaning regime than me as I get about half that for cassette's/chains.....
  • Anonymous