What bike are you riding on the Mega??

2»

Comments

• Rushmore
    Rushmore Posts: 674
    do you guys think the Mega could be done with 120mm both ends?
    Always remember.... Wherever you go, there you are.

Ghost AMR 7500 2012
    De Rosa R838
  • chazkayak
    chazkayak Posts: 193
    Point one This thread is about what bike you are riding on the Mega, not about being able to spin uphill with a single front ring.

Point two If you aint done the Mega how can you comment on the climbs and fitness levels needed???

Point three You probably could get down on a 120mm F/R. I wouldnt advise thrashing yourself down, unless your a real smooth talented rider you would probably bottom out on most features and maybe trash your bike.

I did the mega last year, im no downhill expert and im certainly no top class x-ctry rider fitness freak. I was an over weight beer swilling squaddie(lost a bit of weight, and dont drink so much beer now!!) who did it cause I like an adrenalin buzz. I made it all the way down the qualifier falling on the wooden ladder ( you know where it is if youve done it!!) as someone decided to push past and take us both out. The ladders was the only section I walked cause there was a bottle neck. I beat all my mates down who had done it before. And missed out on the mass start by one place.
  • ilovedirt
    ilovedirt Posts: 5,798
    point one - that is entirely related to what bike you would run on the mega. If I was going, I would ride my RM slayer, as it's the perfect bike for that sort of riding, IMO.

point two - I think it's fairly obvious that you would need to be of a fair level of fitness to ride, or at least do well, given how long it is.
    Production Privee Shan

B'Twin Triban 5
  • miss notax
    miss notax Posts: 2,572
    I'm not sure reading this is doing me is any good - I am now convinced that my bike is the wrong set-up, i'm too unfit and i'll be getting in everyones way and walking up / down everything :oops: :?