Newbie contact lense wearer

stubs
stubs Posts: 5,001
edited April 2012 in Health, fitness & training
Got my first ever set of contacts today Acuvue 30 day toric ones. Looking for any advice about wearing them whilst riding which is what I got them for mainly.

Do you use eyedrops and what type. Do you take any extra precautions when you use them like wearing sunglasses all the time. Do they make your eyes water. Do you carry a spare set with you. Do they come out if you hit the deck. What happens if you get sweat in your eyes.

Anything to avoid doing I suppose the most obvious one would be dont rub your eyes with a filthy sweaty glove.

Any advice would be good I know a couple of contact wearers but neither is a rider.
Fig rolls: proof that god loves cyclists and that she wants us to do another lap

Comments

• ianrams
    ianrams Posts: 51
    I've been MTBing for ten years with contact lenses and never had any issues. The only thing I have to be careful of is staring for too long on a decent as you need to keep blinking. I always wear clear or sun glasses with a view to protecting my eyes but I've had any issues with wiping eyes with gloves etc. Take your glasses as spares in the car in case you have any issues on the ride too.

Have fun

Ian
    Specialized Rockhopper Expert Disc 2009
  • bartimaeus
    bartimaeus Posts: 1,812
    I use daily disposables. I always ride with cheap safety glasses as it stops your eyes watering, and your lenses drying out in the constant wind in your face. Glasses also protect you from anything thrown up from the trail. So I'd say eyewear is a must. I also carry a spare pair of lenses - which is not a problem with dailies - but that's just me being cautious as I have never needed to use them.
    Vitus Sentier VR+ (2018) GT Grade AL 105 (2016)
    Giant Anthem X4 (2010) GT Avalanche 1.0 (2010)
    Kingley Vale and QECP Trail Collective - QECP Trail Building
  • stubs