Mnnnnnffff....broken cable/shifter issue

mtb-idle
mtb-idle Posts: 2,179
edited April 2012 in The workshop
On the way into work this morning and the rear mech cable broke with the break being right inside the shifter (Shimano 105).

Bought a new cable at lunchtime with a view to replacing it but in my efforts to remove the broken part of the cable including the ferrule I have got it trapped inside the shifting mechanism.

i.e. when i started i could see the top of the frayed cable but as i tried to remove it (no pliers as at work) the shifter shifted and pulled the cable around and inside the meachanism so that i can no longer see it to pull out.

If I shift up i.e. push the smaller paddle to slacken the cable the shifting mechanism doesn't release any more as the frayed cable seems to be blocking it.

I am a competent mechanic but in my haste to change this at lunchtime with a lack of approriate tools i appear to have screwed this up.

I have removed the top shiny plastic cover, the one with shimano 105 printed on it and the larger plain plastic cover underneath (both held in with small x-head screws) in an effort to expose more of the shifting mechanism but i still can't access the frayed cable.

It's clearly not gonna get sorted now until i get home with my proper toolset but even then I am struggling to know what to do. Any ideas/suggestions?
FCN = 4

Comments

• davis
    davis Posts: 2,506
    I had exactly this once. I managed to sort it by adopting a Zen-like patience, cable-tying the brake hood open a bit, and using some dental picks (quite handy for this sort of fiddly job; got them cheap off eBay) and needle-nose pliers, and drinking copious quantities of tea.
    Sometimes parts break. Sometimes you crash. Sometimes it’s your fault.
  • mtb-idle
    cheers, will give it a go. I am a patient sort but need to undertake this at home rather than being in my suit in the work car-park and with nothing more than a multi-tool...
    FCN = 4
  • PO Paul