Improving my TT'ing

rozzer32
rozzer32 Posts: 3,823
So I want to improve my TT'ing this year. Had a couple of goes last year and think I did a mid 26 ten. I'm probably going to get a set of clip ons for my road bike and then maybe get a TT bike at the end of the year depending how I get on.

I know there are a few experienced TT'ers on here so if you could share any training sessions to help improve my TT then I would be grateful. Obviously I know I could spend £££££ on wheels, bike, clothing etc but just don't have the money at the moment and there isn't really the need as I'm still relatively new to TT.

Thanks.
***** Pro Tour Pundit Champion 2020, 2018, 2017 & 2011 *****

Comments

• danowat
    danowat Posts: 2,877
    One of the biggest ways to improve is to do lots of TT's, as you can "learn" a lot of speed with pacing and experiance.

Otherwise, I personally do a lot of 2hr high tempo rides (this is the bulk of my training) with some interval sessions, 1 or 2 a week, depending on race load, however, in the summer months I use the mid-week club 10 as an interval session.

There are probably more experianced testers than me though that could give you better pointers, this is only my 2nd session, and I am not overly quick (22mins-10mile, 58mins-25mile, 2:03-50mile, 4:15-100mile)
  • stop been modest dano! 22's are QUICK!

anyway. once TT season starts i would try and ride Two TT's a week. if that's possible. you benefit alot more!

hard to say what else. danowat has hit the nail on the head. high threshold training is what you need, just try and get as many races under your belt as possible. you will be learning for quite some time :)
    Coveryourcar.co.uk RT Tester
    north west of england.
  • sub55
    sub55 Posts: 1,025
    Coming into the season now , should have put your mind to 5 months ago.
    Anyway, my training was always based around what we used to call upper level 2 , or 100 mile tt pace.